Workshop

Help us to make open government data easily accessible to the Swiss population!

From sustainability and health to crime statistics and political data: around 6,250 datasets from 97 organisations are available to the public via the opendata.swiss portal – at least in theory. In practice, however, this wealth of information is only really accessible to a small section of the Swiss population; the IT skills required of users are too high – not to mention the effort involved. 

Yet, access to open and freely usable government data is an important element in promoting transparency, participation and innovation in all areas of society. So it is hardly surprising that the promotion of the use of data plays an important role in the Open Government Data Strategy.

Take part in our challenge and help us, the Federal Statistical Office and the CORSTAT community of interests to develop a solution that allows the Swiss population to make use of this extensive source of information as easily and intuitively as possible.

Virtual Hunt

The Challenge

To help you complete the challenge, the ZHAW will provide you with ValueNet, a natural language to SQL system, and CORSTAT will supply you with a database containing sample datasets. Your creativity will know no bounds:

  • Integrate other open government data sets and create sample queries to train ValueNet;
  • Help to improve the ValueNet algorithm;
  • Build a user interface. This could be a website, an app or a bot – or surprise us with a completely new approach that allows users to interact with open data.

You can also focus on one of these areas for the challenge. We are looking forward to seeing your solution!

Visit our GitHub page for more information on our challenge!


Our partners

Federal Statistical Office

The Federal Statistical Office (FSO) is Switzerland's national competence centre for official statistics. On 1 January 2021, as part of its mandate, the Office set up the Data Science Competence Center which, as a service provider, offers services in the field of data science within the Federal Administration. The FSO and the FOITT have already collaborated on several projects – for example, in the development of the I14Y Interoperability Platform as part of the National data management (NaDB) programme.

CORSTAT

CORSTAT is a community of interests of Switzerland's regional statistical offices and aims to promote public statistics at the regional level. In collaboration with the Federal Statistical Office, CORSTAT has commissioned the «StatBot.Swiss» project, which is intended to create the prerequisites for a nationwide statistics bot over a period of three years.

Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW)

The Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) is one of Switzerland's leading universities and coordinator of the EU's INODE (Intelligent Open Data Exploration) project, which consists of a consortium of nine partners from all over Europe. The project has a budget of EUR 5.7 million and its aim is to analyse data using natural language dialogues – similar to the way we interact with people. This involves applying cutting-edge methods from artificial intelligence as well as established data science algorithms.


BIT Stories

Diversity in projects and technologies

Find out here which projects and technologies we are using to push ahead with the Confederation's digitalisation.

Impressions from last year

Did you miss the FOITT at HackZurich 2020? No problem: we have compiled our favourite moments for you.

Verbindung

Get in touch with us!

Workshop

Aide-nous à rendre les données publiques en libre accès réutilisables facilement pour le peuple suisse!

De la durabilité à la santé, en passant par les statistiques sur la criminalité et les données sur la politique, quelque 6250 jeux de données de 97 organisations sont accessibles pour tout le monde sur le portail opendata.swiss, du moins en théorie. En pratique, cette abondance d'informations n'est réellement disponible que pour une infime partie de la population: pour le reste, les connaissances requises en matière d'informatique sont trop élevées (sans parler des efforts considérables nécessaires). 

Pourtant, l'accès à des données publiques librement exploitables constitue un élément important pour renforcer la transparence, la participation et l'innovation dans tous les domaines de la société. C'est pourquoi il est normal que l'encouragement de l'utilisation des données occupe une place centrale dans la stratégie Open Government Data.

Participe à notre workshop et aide-nous à concevoir une solution pour l'Office fédéral de la statistique et la communauté d'intérêts CORSTAT qui permette d'offrir à la population suisse un accès simple et intuitif à cette source d'informations intarissable.

Virtual Hunt

Le défi

Pour te permettre de relever le défi, la ZHAW met à ta disposition sur ValueNet un système de traduction du langage naturel aux requêtes SQL, tandis que la CORSTAT te fournit une banque de données contenant des exemples de jeux de données. Tu pourras laisser parler ta créativité sans limites:

  • Intègre de nouveaux jeux de données publiques en libre accès et crée des exemples de requêtes afin d'entraîner ValueNet;
  • contribue à perfectionner l'algorithme de ValueNet;
  • conçois une interface utilisateur. Il peut s'agir d'un site web, d'une application ou d'un robot, mais tu peux aussi jouer la carte de l'originalité en adoptant un angle inédit qui permette aux utilisateurs d'interagir avec les données publiques.

Tu peux également te concentrer sur l'un des domaines lors de ce défi. Nous avons hâte de découvrir ta solution!

Pour plus de détails, visite notre site Github.


Nos partenaires

Office fédéral de la statistique

L'Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS) est le centre de compétences de la statistique publique suisse. Dans le cadre de sa mission, il a établi le 1er janvier 2021 le Centre de compétences en science des données, qui sert de fournisseur interne de prestations en matière de sciences des données. L'OFS et l'OFIT ont déjà travaillé main dans la main lors de nombreux projets, comme pour le développement de la l14Y Plateforme d'interopérabilité dans le cadre du programme Gestion nationale des données NaDB.

CORSTAT

La CORSTAT est une communauté d'intérêts des offices régionaux de statistique de la Suisse. Elle vise à promouvoir la statistique publique à l'échelon régional. Aux côtés de l'OFS, la CORSTAT a mandaté le projet «StatBot.Swiss», qui devrait en trois ans établir les fondements nécessaires à l'implantation d'un robot statistique à l'échelle nationale.

Haute école des sciences appliquées de Zurich (ZHAW)

La Haute école des sciences appliquées de Zurich (ZHAW), l'une des hautes écoles phares en Suisse, coordonne le projet européen INODE (Intelligent Open Data Exploration), formé d'un groupement de neuf partenaires issus des quatre coins de l'Europe. Ce projet, doté d'un budget de 5,7 millions d'euros, vise à analyser des données au moyen du dialogue en langage naturel, de la même manière que l'on interagit avec des humains. Pour ce faire, on recourt à la fois à des technologies dernier cri d'intelligence artificielle et à des algorithmes reconnus utilisés dans la science des données.


BIT Stories

Multiplicité des projets et des technologies

Découvre avec quels projets et quelles technologies nous réalisons la transition numérique de la Confédération 

Souvenirs de l'année dernière

As-tu manqué l'intervention de l'OFIT lors de HackZurich en 2020? Ne t'en fais pas. Nous avons compilé un florilège des meilleurs moments.

Verbindung

Prends contact avec nous!