Display and validation

Outside the Federal Administration or other managed software environments, Adobe Acrobat Reader (freeware) is being used less and less. Other PDF viewers, such as those installed in web browsers and on smartphones and tablets are usually unable to recognise, display, or validate electronic signatures.

Electronically signed Federal Administration documents for addressees outside the Federal Administration therefore always contain a visible representation in the normal content of the document indicating the presence of a signature. The representation can be inserted in two possible forms:

  • in the form of a symbol for the type of certificate used (qualified, advanced class B, regulated seal) followed by the name of the signing person/organisation, or
  • in the form of a QR code on the top right of the first page indicating whether the document includes electronic signatures or a seal.

To view electronically signed PDF documents, we recommend that you use Adobe Acrobat Reader (freeware).

Although Adobe Acrobat Reader can at least check the technical validity of electronic signatures, we recommend the Validator of the Federal Administration for checking the validity of electronic signatures under Swiss law.

Technical side note: Under Preferences/Trust Manager, Adobe Acrobat Reader lets you choose between the Adobe Approved Trust List (AATL) and the European Union Trusted Lists (EUTL) for validation. If EUTL is selected, all certificates of Swiss providers are validated as not valid. If AATL is selected, the certificates of most Swiss providers are validated as valid even if they are not qualified or regulated certificates. As a consequence, the validating person must display the content of the certificate and al know which root certificates and which intermediate certificates are used by the Swiss providers for qualified certificates or regulated seals.

20200422-Characterdesign.V3.0_incircle.V2
https://www.bit.admin.ch/content/bit/en/home/themes/elektronische-signatur/anzeigen-und-validieren.html

Affichage et validation

L’administration fédérale ne peut pas garantir aux utilisateurs externes que les programmes d’affichage de PDF qu’ils utilisent soient capables d’identifier, d’afficher correctement et de valider les signatures électroniques.

Aussi les documents signés électroniquement que l’administration fédérale adresse à des personnes externes contiennent-ils toujours la forme visible de la signature, qui comprend un symbole graphique et le nom figurant sur le certificat de la personne ou de l’organisation signataire.

Pour visualiser correctement les documents PDF signés électroniquement, nous vous recommandons d’utiliser le logiciel (gratuit) Acrobat Reader de la société Adobe.

Bien que ce logiciel permette de vérifier au moins la validité technique des signatures électroniques, nous vous recommandons d’utiliser le validateur de la Confédération afin de vérifier la validité des signatures électroniques selon le droit suisse.

Parenthèse technique: Dans le logiciel Acrobat Reader de la société Adobe, le menu Edition\Préférences\Gestionnaire des approbations permet de choisir entre Adobe Approved Trust List (AATL) et European Union Trusted Lists (EUTL). Si l’utilisateur sélectionne EUTL, les certificats des fournisseurs suisses seront tous considérés comme non valables. S’il sélectionne AATL, les certificats de la plupart des fournisseurs suisses seront validés, même s’ils ne sont ni qualifiés ni réglementés. Conséquence: la personne qui effectue la validation doit afficher le contenu du certificat mais aussi savoir quels certificats racines et certificats intermédiaires les fournisseurs suisses utilisent pour les certificats qualifiés ou les cachets réglementés.

20200422-Characterdesign.V3.0_incircle.V2
https://www.bit.admin.ch/content/bit/fr/home/themes/elektronische-signatur/anzeigen-und-validieren.html